Skip to main content

OSU Agriculture has a rich tradition and history of improving the quality of life for all Oklahomans through conducting and disseminating science-based research. This is not possible without the achievements and excellence of its alumni and friends. We annually recognize these outstanding individuals at our OSU Agriculture Honors event.

Distinguished Alumni

The Ferguson College of Agriculture Distinguished Alumni Award was established in 1983 to recognize and honor alumni who have contributed significantly to society, and whose accomplishments inside or outside the agricultural profession have brought distinctive credit to the Ferguson College of Agriculture.

Previous Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

OSU Agriculture Champion

The OSU Agriculture Champion Award recognizes and honors individuals who are not graduates of the Ferguson College of Agriculture, but who have brought distinction to OSU Agriculture and have demonstrated a continuing interest and commitment in agricultural sciences and natural resources.

Previous Agriculture Champion Award Recipients

2021 Distinguished Alumni Award

Mindy Brashears

Brashears is an animal and food sciences professor at Texas Tech University, and in 2019, Brashears was inducted as the fifth Senate-confirmed undersecretary of food safety, which is the highest food safety job in the U.S. government.

Raymond Campbell

Campbell has spent a career in Extension serving multiple roles, including Oklahoma Gardening television host and assistant director of agriculture and rural development programs and associate director for OSU Extension.

Michael Galyean

Galyean currently is the provost and vice president of academic affairs at Texas Tech University, where he holds the position of Paul Whitfield Horn Professor in Texas Tech’s Department of Animal and Food Sciences.

Brett Ramsey and Greg Ramsey

The Ramsey brothers are co-owners of Blue and Gold Sausage Co. in Jones, Oklahoma, a family owned and operated company, and household name in the state of Oklahoma. Both Brett and Greg returned to the company after graduating from OSU.

Frank C. Robson

Robson's career has centered around ranching, banking and real estate. He is the current owner of Robson Ranch, a successful cattle operation that has been in his family since he was a young boy growing up in the Depression.

2021 Champion Award

Martha Burger

Burger had a successful career at Chesapeake Energy, where she retired as the senior vice president of human and corporate resources in 2013. In June 2018, Burger became the first female president of Oklahoma City University in its 114 years.

Arlan Richardson

Richardson currently serves as a senior research career scientist at the Oklahoma City VA Medical Center, as well as an adjunct professor for OSU’s Center for Veterinary Health Sciences.

Brenda Sidwell

Sidwell owns and operates Sidwell Insurance Agency in Goltry, Oklahoma, where she assists producers throughout Oklahoma and Kansas with crop insurance and is an advocate for agriculture.

Joyce Taylor and Barbara Pass

Sisters Taylor and the late Pass both are graduates of OSU. After completing their bachelor’s degrees, Pass continued her education at OSU, and Taylor participated in the ROTC program and earned her master’s degree at Kansas State University, while stationed in Fort Riley, Kansas.

Marta White

White, a native of Czechoslovakia, received degrees from her home country and Indiana University. She left Czechoslovakia after Russian troops invaded her country in efforts to halt political reform and was granted political asylum in the U.S. White and her husband, Dennis, found their way to Stillwater, Oklahoma, where they have philanthropic interests.

Save the Date

Annual Celebration - Oct. 18, 2021
Join OSU Agriculture as we honor and celebrate the recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award and Champion Award on Oct. 18. These individuals have brought distinctive credit to the Ferguson College of Agriculture, contributed significantly to society and have demonstrated a continuing commitment to agricultural sciences and natural resources.
Honors medallions for award recipients
Back To Top