Skip to main content

Ferguson College of Agriculture

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

Meat Judging Team

The concept of the meat judging program is to train individuals to distinguish differences in relative value of various meat cuts. However, the beneficial value of involvement goes much further than determining the compositional and quality differences of carcasses. Students involved with the meat judging program develop life skills that they utilize regardless of their occupation later in life.


Judging team members must make rapid, logical decisions and defend their decisions via written reasons. Therefore, students improve their ability for critical thinking and accurate communication. In addition, students become organized and self-disciplined, learn to accept criticism, develop self-confidence and become leaders.


In many cases, success in meat judging competition translates to employment opportunities, internships and scholarships. Furthermore, relationships developed among team members and coaches help students better interact with others. Bonds developed between members and coaches are cherished for a lifetime. These bonds often provide a sense of family and community to a large campus.

2020 Meat Judging Team


Team members take part in training throughout the judging season. The OSU Meat Judging Team takes part in approximately eight contests annually.

  • View Contest List
    • National Western
    • Ft. Worth
    • Iowa State
    • Houston
    • Eastern National
    • American Royal
    • Cargill-High Plains
    • International
  • Honors & Recognition
    • 19 National Championships
    • 8 Reserve National Championships
    • Over 60 championships from other national contests
    • Only team to win Australian Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest twice
    • More national championships in meat judging than any other university in the country
  • All-Americans

    2005 – Samuel Percival

    2006 – Carl Oblander

    2007 – Reed Smith

    2008 – Kelly Manke

    2010 – Zach Robertson

    2011 – McKenzie Clifton

    2012 – Morgan Neilson

    2014 – Jessie Heidlage & Audrey Zoeller

    2015 – Macy Perry

    2016 – Julianna Albrecht, Abby Bechtold & Emily Rice

    2017 - Charley Rayfield

    2018 - Kathryn Hearn & Lilly Hidlebrand

    2020 - Mamie-Cate Haydon, Grace Harris & Dani LeDonne

  • Team Photos

    All of our judging team photos are available online on Flickr.

  • Scholarships & Aid

    There are multiple scholarship opportunities for judging team members, as well as potential funding for team travel expenses and practice resources.

  • Giving Opportunities

    Interested in supporting a judging team? View available giving opportunities on the OSU Foundation website.


Back To Top