Skip to main content

Ferguson College of Agriculture

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

Success for agricultural economics faculty and students in New Orleans

Friday, April 1, 2022

Students and faculty in the OSU Department of Agricultural Economics earned high honors at the 2022 Southern Agricultural Economics Association meeting held this past February in New Orleans.


Dr. Rodney Holcomb was elected as the incoming SAEA president, and Dr. Kellie Raper was elected to serve as an incoming SAEA board member.


Dr. Cheryl DeVuyst, head of the agricultural economics department, said that she is proud of her colleagues’ new appointments on the SAEA Executive Committee.


“I think it shows that our department is well respected within our discipline and that our faculty are well respected as well,” DeVuyst said.


In addition to Holcomb and Raper securing positions with the board, Dr. John Michael Riley won the SAEA Teaching of a Course Award for AGEC 4333 Commodity Futures Markets.


Students enrolled in Commodity Futures Markets participate in a randomized game where they must make market and hedging decisions throughout a year of crop production. The outcomes are unknown and rolled out over the course of the semester to mimic an actual growing season.


“Dr. Riley connects well with the students by using real-life scenarios in his classes,” DeVuyst said.


Dr. Courtney Bir was named an Emerging Scholar for her work in farm finance management. This award is granted to the early-career faculty for their performance and contributions to agricultural economic studies. 


Jacob Sestak, a graduate student, won the Three Minute Thesis Competition. Sestak’s research analyzed the economic impact of cover crops, tillage and cool-season grazing in Southern Great Plains cattle operations.


The Ferguson College of Agriculture has a long-standing relationship with the Southern Agricultural Economics Association. The annual conference provides members with opportunities to present their research in addition to collaborating on current research projects with students and faculty from other institutions. 

Back To Top